Latest News

NOMINATIONS ANNOUNCED FOR THE 8th ANNUAL LMGI AWARDS – Netflix’s “Ratched” filmed in Monterey County included

LMGI Virtual Awards Ceremony “Celebrate the Where” Set for October 23, 2021 LOS ANGELES, August 20, 2021 – Nominees for the 8th Annual Location Managers Guild International (LMGI) Awards were announced today by LMGI President John Rakich/LMGI.  The awards honor the outstanding and creative visual contributions by location professionals in film, television and commercials from […]

MCFC Board of Directors elects new Board Member, Board Officers

The Monterey County Film Commission board of directors has elected Tanya Olson to its board of directors for a three-year term, and voted in new board officers for the next year. The officers are Gary Bolen, president; Julia Avery-Rudey, vice president, Sandi Austin, secretary; Jeff Clark, treasurer, and Garland Thompson as president emeritus. Olson is […]

MCFC Selects Eliette Singleton as $2,000 Film Student Scholarship Winner

The Monterey County Film Commission announced that Eliette Singleton, a Cinematic Arts and Technology major at California State University, Monterey Bay (CSUMB), was named the 2021 winner of the $2,000 scholarship in the Monterey County Film Commission’s Director Emeritus Richard Tyler Film Student Scholarship Award Program.  She is originally from Playa del Rey. A $500 […]

MCFC elects two new members to Board of Directors

The nonprofit Monterey County Film Commission board of directors has elected two new members to serve three-year terms on its board. Annee Martin is partner/owner of Ami Carmel Boutique and Sanctuary Vacation Rentals.  She has nonprofit volunteering experience with the Monterey County Hospitality Association, and last year she founded Kindness Monterey, a pay-it-forward gift card […]

Bixby Bridge — overnight closures cancelled

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE HIGHWAY 1 AT BIXBY BRIDGE FULLY REOPENED  ALL OVERNIGHT CLOSURES CANCELLED MONTEREY COUNTY – Highway 1 at the Bixby Bridge has been fully reopened and overnight closures previously scheduled to continue into next week have been cancelled. Highway 1 at the Bixby Bridge reopened today Friday July 23 at 6:30 am and will […]

Full Overnight Closure of Hwy. One at Bixby Bridge begin Monday July 12

Date: Thursday, July 1, 2021  District: 05 – Santa Barbara, San Luis Obispo, Monterey, San Benito and Santa Cruz Counties Contact: Kevin Drabinski, 805-549-3138 or Jim Shivers, 805-549-3237 FULL OVERNIGHT CLOSURES OF HIGHWAY 1 AT BIXBY BRIDGE BEGINS MONDAY JULY 12 MONTEREY COUNTY – Maintenance work at the Bixby Bridge (PM 59.5) will result in full […]

From the Heart Productions Short Films Grant Program

Sponsored by the non-profit From the Heart Productions, the prize package for inaugural Roy W. Dean Grant for Short Films has been growing quickly since its inception.  In addition to the $3,000 cash, the winner will now also receive $3,000.00 in music and audio services from well-known composer David Raiklen, $6,000.00 in animation from Emmy award […]