

February 6, 2025 Contact: Karen Nordstrand, 831-646-0910 Karen@filmmonterey.org

Monterey County Film Commission elects two new members to its Board of Directors

(Monterey, CA – Feb.6, 2025) The Monterey County Film Commission board of directors has elected Karilyn Van Oosten and Teresa Savage to its board of directors for three-year terms.

Karilyn Van Oosten, a Monterey resident, is employed at Unitek Learning, serving as vice president of strategic business development. Her focus is on building relationships with educational and corporate partners for solutions, collaborations, and strategic planning.

Teresa Savage is the film commission's ex-officio board member representing See Monterey. She is the senior vice president of business operations at See Monterey, has a hospitality background, and lives in Salinas.

Other board members include Julia Avery-Rudey, Pete Bassett, Ron Brown, Chris Carpenter, Jeff Clark, Dot Findlater, Paula MacNab, Annee Martin, Camille Polson, Paul Ventura, and Garland L. Thompson, Jr.

The Monterey County Film Commission was established by the Monterey County Board of Supervisors in 1987 to attract and facilitate film productions for economic development. The film commission estimates more than \$138 million in positive economic impact has come into Monterey County communities from on-location film productions throughout the county.

The nonprofit organization seeks volunteer board members with diverse fields of interest from all parts of Monterey County, especially those with nonprofit experience. For more information, call 831-646-0910, email info@FilmMonterey.org, or download an application form at www.FilmMonterey.org.



Teresa Savage



Karilyn Van Oosten

###

The Monterey County Film Commission is a nonprofit organization, created by and funded in part by the Monterey County Board of Supervisors. Its mission is to inspire and facilitate film and media production throughout Monterey County, creating positive economic impact.